FolkCast - ShowNotes

Running time: 1hr18min  -  Released 20th May 2017

Play the show                Download

Why not subscribe to FolkCast? It's free and easy!

FolkCast Theme Music: Fisherman's Priest by Ken Nicol

- - -

FolkCast: the podcast that brings you the worlds of
folk, folk-rock, singer-songwriter and roots music.

On this edition of FolkCast we’ve got a hold full of songs about the sea! There are songs about racing on the sea, fishing on the sea and coming home from the sea. We’ve mariners, pirates, whalers and lost sailers. We’ve got boats and tides and ships and sails. That’s right, FolkCasters ... it’s a naughty nautical special!

FolkCast is produced and presented by
Folkie Phil Widdows

Music featured:

Heroes Of The Sea
by Skippinish
from the album “The Seventh Wave” (2017)

Tanka 3 / Song Of A Seafarer
by Nick Burbridge and Tim Cotterell
from the album “Resolved” (2016)

The Corsair / The Black Ship
by Thursday’s Band
from the album “All We Have In Common” (2016)

The Pilot Gig
by Six Sick Sheep
from the EP “The Pilot Gig” (2017)

Row Boys Row
by The Changing Room
from the album “Behind The Lace” (2015)

Ye Mariners All
by Fairport Convention
from the album 50:50@50 (2017)

Home Boys Home
by The Ancient Bretons
from the album “The First 30 Years” (2012)

The Lost Sailor
by Chris Manasseh
from the album “The Sun Destroys The Sky” (2017)

Captain Ward
by Kadia
from the EP “The Outlandish Collection” (2017)

(Listen to The Story Behind The Song of Captain Ward in FolkCast 062)

LaLaLa Presents: ┼kervinda & The Ballina Whalers
June 13th 2017
The Old Church, Stoke Newington Church St, N16 9ES London

Music featured:
Jag Haver Ingen Kärare by Akervinda

Pull Down Below by The Ballina Whalers

Do you run a folk club, pub gigs, theatre shows
or a festival featuring folk music?
Share it with the world via FolkCast for free!

Boats Cut A Water
by The Black Guards
from the EP “Drawn In” (2017)

Tidal Bomb
by Colin Onderdonk
from the album “Proximity Effect” (2017)

by Elephant Sessions
from the album “ All We Have Is Now” (2017)

All Rivers Flow To The Ocean
by MagicHour
online release (2017)

Sailing Too Close To The Wind
by Merry Hell
from the album “Bloodlines” (2016)

Begging Bowl
Help to keep FolkCast in your ear by making a donation, via PayPal

FolkCast Begging Bowl - make a donation to the show


Find out how to subscribe to FolkCast

Contact Us By Email

Special thanks to all the artists we feature this month.
Please visit their websites and support them by buying records and going to gigs.
Tell 'em FOLKCAST sent you!
Previous show  Next Show

Top Of Page