FolkCast - ShowNotes

FolkCast 123 - March 2017
Running time: 1hr22min

Play the show                Download

Why not subscribe to FolkCast? It's free and easy!

FolkCast Theme Music: Fisherman's Priest by Ken Nicol

- - -

FolkCast: the podcast that brings you the worlds of
folk, folk-rock, singer-songwriter and roots music.

We're back, baby! It's the start of a new season and we reveal plans for future FolkCasts. Then we head to the racetrack, go down the mines, take to the ocean, search for a passage through the ice and sail to the stars. There are daft dogs, dirty dogs and Old Blind Dogs, and we finish in a honking great big mucky lorry! Who dares to say that folk music is boring?

FolkCast is produced and presented by
'Folkie' Phil Widdows

Music featured:

Yours For Eternity
by Steve Dagleish
from the album “Yours For Eternity” (2016)

Grand National
by Captain Of The Lost Waves
from the album “Hidden Gems” (2016)

Creeping Jane
by Steeleye Span
from the album “Cogs, Wheels And Lovers” (2009)

Another Lost Sailor
by Chris Manasseh
from the album “The Sun Destroys The Sky” (2017)

The Bonny Ship The Diamond

by Alex Cumming & Nicola Beazley
from the album “Across The Water” (2017)

The Mines Of The Tamar
by Andy Harding
digital release (2016)

Eee Aye Ah Cud Hew
by Stew Simpson
from the album “From Here: English Folk Field Recordings” (2017)

In Time Of 'The Breaking Of Nations'
by Triangle
from the album "This Will Go On The Same" (2016)


We visit Rhyl Folk Club in company of Andrew Weighill-Richards
Northumbrian Tunes by Mountain Oyster Band
and Northwest Passage by Mike Hawkins
both from the album “The Tynewydd Sessions” recorded live at the club (2016)

Eleanor’s Dream
by Fairport Convention
from the album
50:50@50 (2017)

A Ring On Her Hand

by Old Blind Dogs
from the album
Room With A View

Sir Patrick Spens

by Martin Carthy
from the album “Signs Of Life” (1998)

Holding The Whippet
by Ewan Macpherson
from the album “Fetch” (2016)

Day Became You
by Ian Roland
from the EP “Day Became You” (2017)

Doggie Song
by Geoff Lakeman
from the album “After All These Years” (2016)

Dirt Dust Lorries And Noise
by Home Service
from the album “A New Ground” (2016)

Begging Bowl
Help to keep FolkCast in your ear by making a donation, via PayPal

FolkCast Begging Bowl - make a donation to the show


Find out how to subscribe to FolkCast

Contact Us By Email

Special thanks to all the artists we feature this month.
Please visit their websites and support them by buying records and going to gigs.
Tell 'em FOLKCAST sent you!
Previous show  Next Show

Top Of Page